• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

NC; Working on Flat Rate

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

StreetLimitz89

i am a auto mechanic and i work off of flat rate(paid by the job) i put myself in the shop 6 days a week 55+ hours a week and i only bring a 23-27 hours a week check home so technically i basically make roughly hourly if u do the math any where between 4-5 hour is there a law to make my employer pay me for time that i work and not get paid for ... living on these terms does not make ends meet but having a job for now is the most important thing to have

pattytx

All hours that you are at the job location, ready to work, and cannot leave, is considered hours worked. It's called "engaged to be waiting".

Take your gross pay for the workweek, and divide it by all "hours worked", including the hours sitting and the hours actually "mechanic-ing". ;) If the result is at least minimum wage, the employer is compliant in that regard; if not, a minimum wage violation has occurred.

Do you work for a dealership or for an independent garage?

StreetLimitz89