• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Overtime for a newly non-Exempt Employee

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

MBAIV

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Virginia

I was previously Exempt from overtime as i was a manager making 35k+bonuses. As I read the new overtime law that is taking effect December 1st, it would seem that I now qualify for Overtime. My bonuses are paid on a monthly basis and can be anywhere from 5-15k ( for the year in total). Since i do receive bonuses, it looks that the employer can count up to 10% of the $47,476 salary from the bonus. That brings the total amount needed for salary to $42728.40.
The questions: Do I qualify for overtime? Does overtime stop when Salary and overtime hit the 47476 total? I'm not sure if my employer has been keeping of the new update to the overtime law, do I need to inform them that I am working overtime(In the past they've said they need me to work more than 40 hours, but that was when it wasn't costing anything)?

Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

LdiJ

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Virginia

I was previously Exempt from overtime as i was a manager making 35k+bonuses. As I read the new overtime law that is taking effect December 1st, it would seem that I now qualify for Overtime. My bonuses are paid on a monthly basis and can be anywhere from 5-15k ( for the year in total). Since i do receive bonuses, it looks that the employer can count up to 10% of the $47,476 salary from the bonus. That brings the total amount needed for salary to $42728.40.