• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

overtime is not defined but..

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

murtix

Dear all,

i have been working in a company for 7 years now, and i was never paid for any overtime i made for the company. it was defined full time salary, but i have worked overtime a lot of times. our company has never asked us to return a time sheet.

I have looked in my agreement, it does not explained or even mentioned the overtime word in anywhere of the agreement. I have proofs and witnesses about how many times i had to work overtime. Can I claim those hours to be paid to me ?

Also, even though in the agreement it says i am entitled health insurance and other benefits, i have been told that, our company has been canceled our health insurances. I asked the boss that you should pay us extra so at least we can get out own, he says he doesnt have to do it.

One other things, I havent asked for any vacation time off for last 5 years. There is a section that basically says, if u dont use it, you loose it. Is there a legal way of overriding that sentence ?

And also, i have been promised verbally about a lot of extrra payments for the boss asked me to do, but never been paid. Do i have a chance to make him pay those, or should i just forget about those ?

I am sure you guys will think i did a lot stupid mistakes, but this was my first job experience and i am upset at myself by letting employer taking advantage of me.

Thank you for any of your advices.

pattytx

ShyCat's point being, what U.S. state do you work in?
There's a reason you are requested to provide it.

murtix

State is Virginia.