• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Refusing to pay commission I earned...

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

jewell_diva

What is the name of your state? North Carolina

Not sure if I'm posting in the right place, but I didn't know where else this would fit...

I am a broker with an inactive NC real estate license. I worked under a broker-in-charge, and because of a family emergency beyond my control, I had to leave the brokerage and move out of state. I was working on a deal for which I believe I am due commission. I had worked with these buyers for almost a year, I executed the contract, and scheduled/attended all of their surveys and inspections. The only thing I didn't do before having to leave the brokerage was take them to the closing table.

My ex-broker was upset that I had to leave, and she begged me to stay. When I told her that I simply couldn't, she told me she would not pay my commission. I called the NC Real Estate Commission, and the legal dept. told me that depending on the broker, I should either receive either a 25% referral fee, or my normal split. When I asked who enforces this rule, they told me I should speak with the Association of Realtors. When I called the NC Association, they said that because I was no longer a Realtor, (I lost my status as a Realtor when my license was inactive, even though I had just paid a full year of dues), their attorney couldn't help me, and I'd need to hire my own attorney to fight this.