• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Required Overtime

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Jsandersgemini

California

I'm a Retail Store Manager in California. Starting next week, I will have only 2 employees to run my store 7 days a week. My company hates overtime, but I've got no choice. Can they fire me for working too much overtime?

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl
They certainly can. They decide what hours you work, particularly if you are non-exempt and have to be paid time and a half. You most definitely can be fired for working unauthorized overtime. You might want to clear it with them first, and if it's not approved, ask them what you should do instead. It may not stop you from being fired, but it will be facts in your favor when you file for unemployment.

eerelations

If OP is the store manager then he's probably exempt and therefore not legally entitled to OT pay. (Which is probably what his company hates, the pay, not the time worked.) In which case it's probably OK for OP to work as many hours as the store requires. I think what the company wants OP to do is to ensure his/her employees don't work more than 40 hours per week.

commentator

They can fire you for working too much overtime, even if you do not report it and ask to be paid for it. You are an employee. Because they have given you a managerial job, do not fall into the trap of thinking the job (or getting the job done right) is more important to you than the pay. It isn't, because you are not the owner, stockholder, person who is responsible for the overall well being of the company.