• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Salaried exempt and FMLA

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Elzabeth3

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Arizona

I’m an exempt salaried manager that does not accrue sick leave. I recently found out that if I use an intermittent FMLA day to care for my minor son with a chronic health condition my pay will be docked for that day. I am given the option to use vacation time to get paid. I was also told that if another exempt salaried manager was covered under FMLA for their own condition and not their child’s that they would get paid their usual salary for using an FMLA day and would not need to use vacation time. Can they pay one and not the other?

pattytx

There are really two issues here. And a combination of the two.

One, can a salaried exempt employee's salary be docked for intermittent FMLA leave? The answer is yes. (b)(7) in the link below

Second, can there by a difference in pay policy for one employee taking "sick" time for themselves vs taking "sick" time for a family member? The answer there is also yes. Because the employer does not offer a sick pay replacement plan, the salaried exempt employee's salary cannot be docked for absences of less than a full workweek for the employee's illness or injury; there is no similar provision for the employee's children's illness or injury (b)(2) in this same regulation:
http://www.dol.gov/dol/allcfr/ESA/Title_29/Part_541/29CFR541.602.htm

Now comes the combination part and this is where the exceptions may contradict each other, as you can probably see. The real question is, which exception overrides the other?