• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Salary from hourly

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Bossman2378

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? OHIO. I have been working for same company for 39 years as a hourly employee. Now they want to put me on salary to keep overtime down, and it will be about 20000 less a year. I feel like I'm being pushed out the door, as I'm 58 years old. If I resign, what would the chances be I can get unemployment? Thank you

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney
What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? OHIO. I have been working for same company for 39 years as a hourly employee. Now they want to put me on salary to keep overtime down, and it will be about 20000 less a year. I feel like I'm being pushed out the door, as I'm 58 years old. If I resign, what would the chances be I can get unemployment? Thank you
What are your job duties. Not your title, but your actual duties. That is what determines whether you can be considered an "exempt" or "non-exempt" employee. In other words, just because you're on "salary" doesn't mean you aren't entitled to overtime.

Bossman2378

I usually get 5 to 10 hours in overtime biweekly. As we are understaffed and they schedule funerals late. Here is the thing, they said they will give me 4 hours a month overtime max. Even though I know I will be working more than that. And they want me to sign the paperwork when hr faxes it over

eerelations