• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Statute of limitations on CA. public employee overpayment payback?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

hippo

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? California

I am a firefighter for a city in CA. Yesterday I got an email from our personnel dept. saying they just discovered that some 5 1/2 years ago a personnel officer no longer with the city made an erroneous notation in my salary incentives that gave me an extra 5% of base pay for the last 5 1/2 years. I didn't catch it because our paychecks vary by several hundred dollars every pay period based on FSLA, overtime, holiday credit payouts, etc. but apparently it went on all these years every paycheck and nobody ever realized it. The city is accepting full responsibility for the error.

So now they are saying they would like me to pay back the whole thing over the next 52 paychecks (2 years.) I am an honest guy and will pay back what I legally should, but it will be a $25,000 or so payback I think which will be an enormous amount to payback in such a relatively short time compared to how long it was accrued.

My question is whether there is a statute of limitations for CA public employees on how for back an error must be payed. According to another post in this forum, and at least one ehow page I found, it appears that the limitation may be 3 years from the paycheck where the error occurred, but that post didn't cite the actual relevant case law or statutes I can show to my union reps.

Can anyone help me with this? I have two daughters in college I am supporting. :) Thank you!

swalsh411