• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Switching W4 from claiming 1 dependant to claiming EXEMPT

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Chloe062773

What is the name of your state? FL

Hi I have a question. I work in sales and I am a straight commission person. No overtime, no salary, no sick or vacation time etc. I usually claim 1 for myself on my W4. However I was told by numerous fellow coworkers that when they get really high bonuses they switch their w4's from whatever they claim to EXEPMT too avoid getting killed on taxes. They say they never have to pay at the end of the year and do it only when checks will be really high.

I am getting married in November and trying to save up for the big day.My next two paychecks will total together about $18000 for the month of March. My question is, if I switch from "1" to EXEMPT for only one month (and then switch it back) is that illegal and will the IRS make me pay at the end of the year or will this be overlooked as long as it is not done anymore after this? I just want to have my wedding paid for tand this would do it! Thanks

anteater

I would suggest that you get hold of Form W-4 and read it closely.

Also, you might familiarize yourself with the term "perjury."

Chloe062773

I have read the w4 and it says that I was not in debt to pay any taxes last year and I am not expected to have to owe any at the end of this year. Which is the case. Your answer to my question has not been helpful. If you would try to explain instead of being so sarcastic. I'm asking first because I want to make sure I do not do anything that is illegal or wrong.

anteater

Try reading it again.