• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Unpaid Internshup

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

TomSanders

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? California

I am a small business owner in California. My business is in professional area. I am considering to offer an internship position. I would like to know the wage requirement for an internship position. Does it still have to be over the minimum wage?

OHRoadwarrior

There are very specific laws you must follow regarding unpaid internships. You cannot just create a position and call it that, walking away with free labor. I suggest you offer an internship and pay minimum wage.

eerelations

I don't understand - you want to have an unpaid internship position in your company but you want to know how much the law requires you to pay it? Why? So you'll know how much money you'll be saving when you are breaking the law by not paying your intern?

That said, most (and possibly all) unpaid internships are illegal. You must pay your interns at least minimum wage if you don't want to be in violation of the law. You are not legally required to pay more than minimum wage.

OHRoadwarrior

That would best be coordinated with the college OP wishes to offer it through, so they may gain recognition in their coursework.

TheGeekess

Keeper of the Kraken
What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? California

I am a small business owner in California. My business is in professional area. I am considering to offer an internship position. I would like to know the wage requirement for an internship position. Does it still have to be over the minimum wage?