• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

unpaid mandatory meetings

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

W

woodone

What is the name of your state?What is the name of your state? CA

I worked as an employed personal trainer in a large health club. Our pay was based on an hourly wage. We were told that we must attend mandatory meetings unpaid. My problem started occuring when management started a training program for us. All of the trainers had to attend every hour of the training in order to continue working there. The problem for us was we weren't getting paid. These meetings were during our off hours and were not during our normal schedules. When I signed a contract at the time of hiring, there was a stipulation that I must attend all meetings but it did not say that they were unpaid. Meanwhile the manager lecturing the meetings was on salary.

I did miss a few training meetings and received two "employee performance reports". One if which stated that I would be terminated if I did not attend the meetings. I have in my possesion copies of those reports. I ended up being forced to resign if I did not want to cooperate.

I was thinking about pushing for a class action suit since every former employee had to endure the policy. I'd first like to know for sure that it's worth starting.

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl
Before we start talking about class action suits, can we first establish if there's a problem to begin with?

First of all, are you exempt or non-exempt?

W

woodone