• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

VA: Employer charging employee for damaged/unsellable products

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

employee#1

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Virginia

This question also includes elements of termination/wrongful termination.

I work for an electronics retailer in Virginia. I have a question about my employers attempts to charge me for any lost, missing, damaged, or unsellable merchandise.

In particular, I took phone return recently that had activation lock software enabled (via iCloud). This is my first time in a few years there that I have made a mistake like this. My employer is now attempting to charge me $700 to pay for the phone because the activation lock means they cannot resell it. It is my understanding that charging employees for such losses is illegal in Virginia, and they cannot take it out of my paycheck without a written authorization that I sign without the authorization being a condition of continued employment. I am worried that we're about to have a standoff over this.

They charge employees for a lot of losses already, so they'd be in a precarious spot if it's as illegal as it seems and all those charges come home to roost.

My questions are as follows:
1) Am I correct in my belief that this is illegal per 40.1-29 (I think) in the VA Code?
2) Can I be fired for refusing to pay?
3) Would such a refusal mean my firing was for cause and thus prevent me from receiving unemployment benefits?
4) Would I have grounds for wrongful termination in that case?

Last edited:

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl
1.) Yes
2.) See #4
3.) No