• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

where to file a complaint

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

adlerel

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? NY
If I want to file a unfair employment practice against me by my employer who would I contact? I am not in a union.

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl
You'll have to give us some idea of what kind of unfair practice you're referring to as it could make a difference to the answer.

adlerel

I have a written agreement which bases my salary upon enrollment and revenue of my particular class(I am a teacher) The agreement states that this year since enrollment is down 33% they are decreasing my salary 30%. It then states that should enrollment and revenue of my class go up next year my contract can be revisited and adjusted upward and should enrollment go up to full next year my salary can be restored.
So now next year has come and they are not considering me attached to any revenue or enrollment. They are telling me "that was last year's agreement". I read the parts of the agreement which state "next year" and they simply are saying "sorry" we are not going to abide by it.
Basically, saying to me they are not honoring their agreement. I had gone over the entire agreement last year(on advice of an attorney) to verify the parts that talk about next year-my boss stated to those stipulations of next year with the word "that is correct".
Once again, I am in a non union school.

So where do I go to file a complaint?...Better Business Bureau, National Labor Relations Board or other??

thanks

swalsh411