• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Annuity Beneficiary US citizen, Australian Resident

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

playskoolpeople

What is the name of your state? PA

I am a US citizen residing in Australia. I am the beneficiary of an annuity as a result of my grandmother's death. I want a lump-sum payment. Do I need to have tax withheld? Does this mean I need to file a tax return? I have never done so before. Thank you for your assistance!

S

seniorjudge

playskoolpeople said:
What is the name of your state? PA

I am a US citizen residing in Australia. I am the beneficiary of an annuity as a result of my grandmother's death. I want a lump-sum payment. Do I need to have tax withheld? Does this mean I need to file a tax return? I have never done so before. Thank you for your assistance!
Post this in the tax forum and tell them we sent you over there so that you do not get a nastygram for double posting.

I am NOT a tax attorney, but I suspect the answer is that you will have to file a Federal tax return and a PA return (if that commonwealth taxes income) since you earned income in those two jurisdictions. It doesn't matter where you are when you earn it; just that you earned it.

Anyway, I don't even do my own tax returns so post it over there to see what you find out.

Dandy Don

Do a GOOGLE search using the terms "Pennsylvania" and "tax accountant" or "CPA" and hire one to do your taxes and to ask questions of. It will be fairly easy to figure out.