• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Difficulty in Removal of Trustee

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

mickey69

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Missouri

What kind of burden does a beneficiary have in filing for removal of trustee on basis of breach of fiduciary duty? I'm a paralegal myself, but not very familiar with this type of law and the attorneys I work with are already bleeding me on bills at this point.

Our grandparents left a successful farm to four beneficiaries. My share was inherited after my father died. The trustee did not provide annual reports, as stipulated by the trust. After requesting these multiple times, he still failed to provide a report for my grandmother's trust before her death. His attorney (and the trust attorney) state that they do not have to report on trust assets before her death because she was using her bank account as a personal account at the time. We feel that assets were moved on the day of her death.

He is attempting to sell our real estate by auction soon, so we have an attorney who will file for us and probably file for lis pendens to stop the sale. But how hard is it to get something accomplished on something along this line?