• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Estate property/Sibling buyout

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

nudaveritas

What is the name of your state? FL

My mother passed away in March of 2006 (my father passed away years prior). I have been living in the home since shortly before that time. A will was not left; however, my sister and I are currently going through probate to which we are both inheriting equal shares in the home. I have been paying the mortgage for the past 13 months and do plan on staying here indefinitely. My sister wants me to buy her out and I have no objections to this naturally, my only concern is proceeding in a legal, fair, and effective way. The house itself is a far cry from fair condition and needs at minimum 20k in repairs, and at current market value seems comparative to homes in the area at a 80k-90k range (generously speaking). We seem to have a different opinion on value, her estimate exceeding 110k. Here's where it gets tricky. I recommended that we get the property appraised, but she refuses to take any part in the process and will likely dispute. (Bear in mind that no changes have been made to the home since my mothers passing.) She instead is asking that we have a friend of hers, who is in real estate, perform a CMA to estimate value, and according to our attorney she has the upper hand to choose this route. I feel that a CMA is too subjective, particularly because this person may be biased due to her relationship with my sister. More so, wouldn't an appraisal be more accurate? Am I wrong in thinking this?

How should/can we proceed with the above in mind? (Fairly on both ends.)