• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Issue with divorced wife and setup of trust for kid's education

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

weeble9898

I am a resident of Baltimore, Maryland and I have a question regarding the setup of a living trust. My ex-wife and I owned a house together until very recently. We sold the house and received a check for about $80,000. We are interested in using this money to fund our daughters' educations. I suggested a trust that would allow only the children to have access to the money and only for college. I need to know how much it would cost to set up and maintain a trust like this. I realize that it is not a tremendous amount of money, but it would surely take a bite out of the kids' education expenses. I have read that trusts can cost upwards of $1000. Are there any other options? She suggested that she put the money in an account in her name and have a contract written up stating that it would only be used for the children's schooling. I would do this but she already broke one contract with me and I don't so much trust her.

Thanks in advance

anteater

Is there are reason why you and the ex have to be "tied together" in this? Do you really want to restrict access to only the children?

Why not fund a 529 college savings plan for each daughter? Maryland allows a state income tax break on contributions to its plan.