• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Property Inheritance

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

MichaelF

What is the name of your state? Nevada

My step-dad died a week ago. Before he died, he told me that I am in his will, and that he was leaving me the mobile home and the acre of land it is on, which I've been renting from him for the past 6 1/2 years. The only other person named in the will to receive anything is his ex-wife, whom he left $100. The rest of the estate (in excess of 3/4 of a million $$$) is to go to his selected charity. My uncle is the executor of the will, but has not been left anything in the will.

My step-dad had paid-off the land which this mobile home is on long before I moved here. It had been purchased in 1990. When I wanted to move to Pahrump (in 2000), he purchased this mobile home and had it installed on this property. He did not pay for the mobile home in full. He bought it on mortgage. A couple of years ago, when interest rates were low, he re-mortgaged this house. At this point, I do not yet know if he only mortgaged the remaining balance, or whether he took-out a larger mortgage to get some cash. I know he was going through some financial difficulties at the time due to his divorce.

Last year, both of his elderly parents died, leaving him a great deal of money, which is why his estate is now so large. Their house still is not sold, has a value of about $250,000, and had been paid in full. His house is worth about $400,000, and was paid in full after his folks died. He has about $125,000 in stock investments. Unfortunately, for some reason, he did not pay-off the mortgage on this mobile home.