• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Question Regarding Testamentary Trust

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

fancgrl

My name is Jessica and I am a current Arizona resident, living in Scottsdale. I turned 18 in January and was recently informed that a testamentary trust fund was set up for me by my great grandmother shortly before her death.

It's a sizable amount of cash that I'm in dire need of. I have a two-year old daughter and would like to focus on investing my money in a restaurant I'm currently planning.

I've searched online, relentlessly in an effort to find any information pertaining to testamentary trusts, and have hit brick walls each and every click.

My trust is set to release 1/3 of the amount to me when I turn twenty, and then again when I turn thirty and fourty. It was my great grandmother's wishes.

I guess, the reason I'm posting here is to ask if there are any possible ways I can get the trust released to me now, in full?

Thank you for your time,
Jessica
Scottsdale, Arizona

Dandy Don

Sorry, but the rules are strict--you can not get this money in advance.

In your case this is probably a good thing--do you know how high the failure rate is for restaurants? You will have to get the money from another source--persuading investors or take out a loan.

When you reach the age when you will be able to get this money, you'll be glad you couldn't get it earlier because it will have increased in value. Better for you to buy a house or invest in your retirement than throw it away on a restaurant.

fancgrl