• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Setting an estate

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

J

jts228

My Mother passed away last month and I am the executor of the will. My mothers estate amounts to less than $3,000 cash with no property. Her will states that her 7 living children will share her estate equally. Must I file for probate or can I just distrubute the cash and close her account, as I am a signer on her account. Thanks for your help.

L

lawrat

I am a law school graduate. What I offer is mere information, not to be construed as forming an attorney client relationship.

Does she have any unpaid bills? Does she have personal items like clothes, furniture, etc?

You didn't mention your state.
DISTRIBUTE THE ASSETS AS THE WILL SAYS?
Generally it is necessary to go through probate or, in the case of smaller estates, a less formal procedure that is still under the general supervision of the probate court, before the deceased's property can be legally distributed.

Even if a person dies with a Will (which is known as dying "testate"), a court generally has to have an opportunity to allow others to object to the Will, and if there are any objections, to determine if the Will is valid, because it is always possible that

there was a later Will (which, if valid, would replace the older Will), or

the Will was made at a time the deceased was not mentally competent to make a Will, or

the Will was the result of fraud, mistake or "undue influence" or

the Will was not properly "executed", or

the so-called Will is actually a forgery, or

for some other reason (such as a pre-existing contract) the Will is not fully valid, or