• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Boss tells everyone dont get hurt cause we dont give workers comp! your on your own!

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

streetrayzed

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? PA.
I work at a pretty well known bakery in Philly. I am white. I am a baker and work with all mexican's. They are all my buddies I have nothing against them making a living. But they are all illegal working under phony documents. My boss knows this of course. We all work on the books. I am only allowed to work 5hrs max of OT a week. Which I am paid time and a half. The mexicans are required to work no less then 15 hrs OT a week which they are only paid straight time. My boss knows they wont complain cause they are working illegally. I mean I know this is wrong. If I open my mouth they will fire me and replace me with another illegal.
Also we are told not to get hurt. If we get hurt were told "we don't do workers comp, if you get hurt your on your own" now I know thats not legal. I am a US citizen working on the books. If I get hurt I have a right to be compensated right? any insight anyone can give me about these issues would be greatly appreciatedWhat is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl
When and if you get hurt at work, if there is no workers compensation you will be able to take legal action at that time. There is nothing for you to do now.