• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Can I claim carpal tunnel syndrome

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

cheknurpulse196

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? TN
I work as a CNA and I think I am getting carpal tunnel in my left and possibly my right hand. My sister in law in IL claimed hers on workman's comp. How and can I do that?

cheknurpulse196

My boss is the type that he will try to get out of it. And just need to know if it can be claimed and if and where I can get the info before I go to him.

commentator

You need to notify your employer that you believe you are having carpal tunnel. They'll ask you a bunch of questions. Is this bi-lateral, or just on one side?What do you think you are doing at your work that is causing the carpal tunnel? Do you do anything else off work that might be causing it, such as bowling, riding dirt bikes? What are your syptoms?

Generally carpal tunnel is caused by repetitive motion of some type. Lifting (such as lifting patients) is probably not going to cause carpal tunnel. Cleaning, scrubbing, that type of repetitive motion which you might do as a CNA would probably be a more likely cause.