• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Denial of Benefits, Please advise

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

D

Deanna8282

What is the name of your state?What is the name of your state? Florida

I am a Registered Nurse and was diagnosed with a latex allergy in August of 1999. My symptoms include hives, intense itching, and wheezing when in contact with any rubber latex products. I was instructed by my hospital's workman's compensation department to be evaluated by a board certified allergist. The allergist concluded that I must cease bedside nursing and limit environmental exposure to any latex/rubber products. This has been a challenge to do but, I have made lifestyle modifications. I quit bedside nursing, removed all rubber products in my home, car, essentially my entire environment. And, am quite diligent in my efforts to minimize exposure when outside my home (going to a tire shop or toy store has been off-limits) including removal of any rubber products when working (computer mouse pads and even pencil erasers cause a reaction).