• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

employers responsibility?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

jwow

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Florida

I am a mechanic in a repair shop. I recently injured myself on the job which resulted in me going to the ER and receiving 3 staples in my head. I was told by my employer that he did not have WC because in the State of Florida he did not legally have to carry it because he has under 4 employees. I used my own health insurance when I went to the hospital but unfortunately it did not cover all the expenses. I do believe that my employer has under 4 employees so if what he says is true about the WC requirement, is my employer still responsible to pay my remaining hospital bills that I incurred from the accident?

Thanks

W

Willlyjo

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Florida

I am a mechanic in a repair shop. I recently injured myself on the job which resulted in me going to the ER and receiving 3 staples in my head. I was told by my employer that he did not have WC because in the State of Florida he did not legally have to carry it because he has under 4 employees. I used my own health insurance when I went to the hospital but unfortunately it did not cover all the expenses. I do believe that my employer has under 4 employees so if what he says is true about the WC requirement, is my employer still responsible to pay my remaining hospital bills that I incurred from the accident?

Thanks