• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Foreign Remote Worker Not Getting Paid

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

umair_ahmed

I am a software engineer by profession. I was hired by a start-up based in Orlando, FL. My contract as per the document signed was also under Florida state law. I was hired as a contract remote worker with no employee benefits. The employer has failed to produce the last 5 payments (<$10000) and insisted upon that it will be paid once we complete the software and launch it. But they fired all the foreign workers (2) on the day we completed it and gave the go ahead for final testing prior launch. They did not respond to any correspondence afterwards. How can I recover my dues while I am still in Pakistan?

Last edited:

I am a software engineer by profession. I was hired by a start-up based in Orlando, FL. My contract as per the document signed was also under Florida state law. I was hired as a contract remote worker with no employee benefits. The employer has failed to produce the last 5 payments (<$10000) and insisted upon that it will be paid once we complete the software and launch it. But they fired all the foreign workers (2) on the day we completed it and gave the go ahead for final testing prior launch. They did not respond to any correspondence afterwards. How can I recover my dues while I am still in Pakistan?
Simply put: If you turned over the un compiled code with the working program, Then what incentive would they have in paying you?
Do they own any interests (property...) in your country?

Sorry

quincy