• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Health Care reimbursment for my newborn

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

A

Alzee77

What is the name of your state? CT

I am an independent consultant who contracted with a consulting firm earlier this year for employment. During this time, the consulting firm provided health insurance which I paid bi-weekly premiums. Also, during that time my third child was born. However, I failed to add my baby within 30 days of his birth but no later than 40 days. I've been notified by the insurance company they will not pay the hospital claims ($6, 000) because of this timing issue.

I do no feel this is fair. Do I have a legal case to sue?

Thank you,
Alzee77

Beth3

If you received an insurance booklet or plan document when you enrolled for coverage, I fully expect it spelled out in there what a participant is required to do when a new legal dependent occurs and the time limit to add them for coverage. Assuming that is the case, then no, you don't have any basis to sue. The insurance company provided you the information; it's not their fault if you didn't read it or failed to notify them of the new baby timely.

A

Alzee77

Beth3, thank you for your reply. I just reviewed my employee handbook and signed copies of my application forms and no where is that spelled out.

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl