• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

I don't think this is legal

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

kdalla55

Oregon
My hubby was using a drill at work and it bound up on him and spun his wrist almost a year ago. He is on a workmans comp case with SAIF. We have seen 4 surgeons all said he has a tear in his TFCC and multiple ligaments torn, but no one will operate because the risk for more pain is to great and it's a very complicated surgery, basically they are scared of lawsuits. So we are stuck. He can't work doing anything with his hand (he was a sheetmetal worker by trade) Well, the day after Thanksgiving SAIF closed his case, so no more income or medical. The closing documents state that he has a wrist sprain and he is released for full duty. Even after telling him verbally that his hand was completely devastated and he will never be able to work with it again! How is this possible? All the surgeons have diagnosed him with torn ligaments and TFCC using MRI's and Xrays? The lawyer we have is so lackadaisical about it, saying that we can appeal but will probably get the same results. His suggestion was to go back to work and wait for my husband to re-injure himself because he will. Does this even sound logical? I just don't know how this system can completely push him aside and not help fix his hand, he is 29 and cannot lift anything of weight with his right hand! How is it that all these sue crazy people walk away with thousands but then an honest hardworking man gets treated like this and he is genuinely hurt? Sorry to go on about it, I am just so upset and needed to vent hoping someone has been in a similar situation and can offer advice.