• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

I was robbed at work. Is the store responsible for anything that was taken?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

jeffsimpson

Florida

I'm a delivery driver and I got robbed at gunpoint during a delivery a few days ago. They took my wallet and cell phone then jumped in my car and drove off. I immediately found someone with a phone and called the cops. Spent the rest of the night at the station and theres an investigation going on now. Before going home, i had to go back to the restaurant and type up what happened. The store said I still owed the 39 dollars that was in my wallet from deliveries. They have a policy where we have to drop anything above $20 in the bank when we get cash deliveries. They don't actually ask us or expect us to do that, but i guess they're covered and theres nothing i can do about that. I don't really trust them so i don't want to ask without researching first, but does their insurance have to cover anything? My car was found unharmed, but my $400 cell phone, $50 dollar wallet and $50 were taken? What can i do about this? The company is jimmy johns.

Florida