• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Questions on the Workers’ Comp

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

iwmi

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? GA

I am an IT professional and working in GA. I have been diagnosed with the Neck Cervical Spine Disease for 3 weeks. My normal activities have been limited by the disease, such as I cannot sit for working on the computer for more than a few minutes due to the pain on the right upper backside. If I have to work, I can only lay in the bed to work for a couple of the hours, break an ½ hours, then work another couple of hours and so on.

My doctor told that the illness might relate to my nature of the work, sitting in front of the computer. I have been under the physical therapy for about 2 weeks and there has been no sign improvement. The doctor has advised that if the physical therapy would not help in another week, the spine surgery would be recommended, and then I would be out of the work for about 6-8 weeks.

I am a full time employee and I work 100% remotely from home. I have not stopped working and have not informed my sickness to my employer yet.

My question, May I be qualified for the benefits of the Workers’ Comp? If yes, how can I proceed the process?

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl
It is possible that your condition might qualify for a workers comp claim, yes. It is also possible that it might not. Only your workers comp carrier can say for sure.

The way to start is to follow your company's procedures for filing a workers comp claim. If you do not know what they are, ask your supervisor, HR representative, or union representative if applicable.

iwmi