• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Subpoena for Employment Records

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

roger6

California, Los Angeles

I am a general contractor in California. I have been contacted by someone who has told me that they are attempting to serve a subpoena from an attorney for employment records.

The individual whose records they are seeking was never an employee of my company. He performed some work as a sub-contractor a few times and was paid in cash. He has claimed to have worked for me full time for almost two years, which is untrue.

They said they would mail the subpoena. I have no employment records on this person as he was never an employee.

How should I proceed?

Thanks.

pattytx

"Our records do not reflect this person as an employee."

Here's where you may run into trouble though-are you SURE the worker shouldn't have been an employee and not an independent contractor?

roger6

"Our records do not reflect this person as an employee."

Here's where you may run into trouble though-are you SURE the worker shouldn't have been an employee and not an independent contractor?
Thanks for your response. I like your sig line.

From what I can gather, this individual is suing a homeowner because he got hurt whilst working on their property, and either his attorney, or the defendant's attorney, is asking for employment records to establish his income to determine loss. I'm guessing on that, but that's what it sounds like.

The lawsuit itself has nothing to do with me in any way of liability, they just want employment records.