• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Work Stress Related Illness - Any Recourse?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

jeffslaw

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Oregon

I've been working IT for my company for 11 years. My staff of 2 techs were cut 2 years ago and I've been expected to pick up almost all the slack since that point. In the last 12-18 months I've had increasing stress related health issues (i.e constant fatigue, insomnia, anxiety and brain fog, depression, anger, stomach issues). I will set an appointment with my PCP for an updated physical soon. I've repeatedly asked for more staff and made every attempt to transfer to different groups within my company with no success. My company is hiring for other positions almost daily, but refuses to consider additional staff to relieve my position. I'm reluctant to find another employer now as the above health issues have impacted my work performance. I'm definitely not the only person who is overworked at my company, but believe my health is suffering. I'm considering talking to my physician about short term disability, but that wouldn't change much upon my return even if I qualify. Do I have any recourse in this situation?What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl
You are free to file a workers comp claim. The burden of proof will be on your and your doctor to show that all the health issues are work related and cannot have originated through any other source. Stress claims are exceedingly hard to get through workers comp. But you have the right to try.