• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Working at a place that allows tobacco?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Tracy_M

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Texas

Hello! I've been working at a hookah bar for about 2 years. The city that the business is in does not allow smoking tobacco in bars and restaurants. I had thought until this point that what was sold in the hookahs was something other than tobacco. That is not true! It is tobacco with fruit flavors. When the inventory for the hookahs comes in, this bar moves it to plastic bins and throws away the boxes that clearly indicate the tobacco content. I just learned that the times the city has come in to inquire, they are shown a different but similar product with no tobacco and since the inventory is in plastic bins, they are none the wiser.

What is my best course of action? I've been working in a cloud of thick tobacco smoke 5 times a week for over two years!

Just Blue

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Texas

Hello! I've been working at a hookah bar for about 2 years. The city that the business is in does not allow smoking tobacco in bars and restaurants. I had thought until this point that what was sold in the hookahs was something other than tobacco. That is not true! It is tobacco with fruit flavors. When the inventory for the hookahs comes in, this bar moves it to plastic bins and throws away the boxes that clearly indicate the tobacco content. I just learned that the times the city has come in to inquire, they are shown a different but similar product with no tobacco and since the inventory is in plastic bins, they are none the wiser.