• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Can I re-use Master Services Agreement and Statement of Work for multiple clients?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Andrew2009

This is for California law.

I have client #1 who sent me a Master Services Agreement and Statement of Work created by their lawyers for me to sign to do some software development for them. I have client #2 who wants me to do some work for them also. Client #2 asked me if I have any contract document that I can send to them to review. I'm an independent contractor.

I'm not a lawyer so I don't know how to create a legal contract. Can I send client #2 the same MSA and SOW template that client #1 sent to me? (of course I'll customize it to client #2 like name, services that I'll do for client #2 ...etc.). These MSA and SOW templates contain only standard legal terms and conditions like IP will belong to the client once I'm done so there's nothing special and complicated in them.

Can I re-use these templates for client #2 and future clients? I don't want to get into any legal trouble :)

Thanks

quincy

This is for California law.

I have client #1 who sent me a Master Services Agreement and Statement of Work created by their lawyers for me to sign to do some software development for them. I have client #2 who wants me to do some work for them also. Client #2 asked me if I have any contract document that I can send to them to review. I'm an independent contractor.