• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Child Support, Arrears & Child Not in School

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

ladyv924

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? TX

I apologize..I'm new at this and hit "enter" before I finished typing the question! DUH! Anyway, I'll try to be brief: March 2005, my husband quit his job. He worked odd jobs and paid what he could but of course, ended up in arrears. Early 2007, the CP had a baby (no, not with my husband!); April-May 2007, the CP withdrew the then 14 yr. old daughter from public school to be home schooled. The daughter is NOT being home schooled. November 2007 my husband found a great job. December 2008 he was laid off. He's collecting unemployment benefits and 1/2 is going towards c/s. The daughter is still not enrolled in school (she has an 8th grade education) only her younger brother was attending school. My question: Isn't there a law or something that states your child has to be enrolled in school? Can the arrears or c/s order be modified due to the CP's "benign indifference?"

Last edited:

Ohiogal

Queen Bee
What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? TX