• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

modification

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

jlop

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? TX
I have been paying CS for the last 15 yrs. and now my child turned 18 in March and will be graduating in May and my ex. is threatening to take me to court and get a modification for me to continue paying until she is done with college. The original divorce decree states that i pay until she is 18 and or graduates high school, can this type of modification be made or is she blowing smoke? THANKS

Proserpina

I have been paying CS for the last 15 yrs. and now my child turned 18 in March and will be graduating in May and my ex. is threatening to take me to court and get a modification for me to continue paying until she is done with college. The original divorce decree states that i pay until she is 18 and or graduates high school, can this type of modification be made or is she blowing smoke? THANKS

Yes, it's possible.

But until/unless you are served, there's little you can do about it.

mistoffolees

Yes, it's possible.
Maybe, maybe not. In some states, once the child is 18, it is impossible to request a change in child support - even if the child support is still going until graduation. Typically, if you want child support to run through college, that must be requested at the time of the original order. Someone familiar with TX rules will have to explain whether that's true in TX.

YBut until/unless you are served, there's little you can do about it.