• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Motion to set aside judgment

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

adjusterjack

As Zigner noted, the case is new. All of this is very recent, except for the debt which is old.

The sworn affidavit is dated. I assume it took the motion+affidavit a couple/few days to travel from out of state mail to my address as well as the court. A few days later, the judgement was issued. We are talking ~1 week here in which all of that happened. I could be wrong, I am not a lawyer, but I would be surprised if the judgement against me happened because I failed to respond in a timely manner. I don't know of any deadlines that are so quick. I had 20 days to respond to the answer, for instance.
Let's find out just how recent.

ANSWER THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS:

What was the exact DATE that the Motion for Summary Judgment was FILED WITH THE COURT?

What was the exact DATE that you received it?

What was the exact DATE that the judge issued his ruling on the Motion for Summary Judgment?

You can look up the first and third dates on the court docket.

Rule 56. Summary Judgment
(C) Motion and proceedings thereon. The motion and any supporting affidavits shall be served in accordance with the provisions of Rule 5. An adverse party shall have thirty (30) days after service of the motion to serve a response and any opposing affidavits.
There's a lot more to Rule 56 so you'd better read all of it:

http://www.in.gov/judiciary/rules/trial_proc/#_Toc502746827

One more thing. If you have, or will get, a copy of the judge's ruling and quote it here in it's entirety, we may be able to explain why your comments might or might not have made any difference.

Last edited: