• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Moving / Studying abroad while pending court date?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

dylanh724

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Hawaii

Hi --

I got served over 1 year ago for a frivolous case (I'm not just saying that because I'm the defendant -- it really is frivolous, and attorneys are telling me to just wait until the clerks of court send out a notice to potentially dismiss it [in which they will most likely ignore because they will lose if they go to court]).

I am a student and planned to study abroad in Spring 2013. What can I do about this? Can I still legally study abroad for 3-4 months in Japan through my university here in Honolulu? I also graduate after Spring 2013 -- if the case is still lingering, I can't even move can I, when I try to find a real job?

I keep hearing it's best to let this go as long as possible and let it try to dismiss on it's own, but should I draft a "ghetto" (I'd use a template and guess based what Google has told me) motion to dismiss for failure to prosecute, or let this go on it's own? They never even filed a pretrial statement!

justalayman

well heck, that is totally different.

There is no motion to dismiss available based on the time. If the plaintiff wishes to continue the case as long as the court rules allow it, they can. After that point, it simply falls off the calender due to the expiration of the time allowed for it to set on the court docket.