• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Petitioning a 5150 5 year gun restriction

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jdavila1999

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? California
This is my first time posting as I was referred to this site by a co worker, I came here to ask for advice on petitioning a 5 year gun ban caused by a 5150 referral over a year ago. I do not know if it even can be petitioned now but I would like to try regardless. The issue is not any interest in owning a weapon but simply not feeling right about having one of my basic rights taken from me because of the opinion of one person who decided to 5150 me. I have no criminal record, no history of any sort of violence and was released before the 72 hour hold was up. I was coerced into signing and now I would like to reverse this decision, I recognize it is my fault but I recall an option to petition it later on even if I agreed to it. I would be glad to receive any advice on this topic, either to tell me it isn’t possible or how I can start the process and what to expect from the court, thank you.

FlyingRon

Yes, you may petition the court in your county of residence. There's no time limit on when you can apply for the hearing, it can be done any time within the five years.
However, you only get one crack at the petition. If you screw it up and get denied, you'll have to wait out the five year period.

There are attorneys that specify in this area of law that will probably be your best bet.

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney
I was coerced into signing ...