• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

30-day free trial turned into a $500 charge and $800 fee to cancel after 2 weeks.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

CaptainJackSpar

While I was inquiring about a local fitness facility my salesperson told me that I would have a risk-free trial period of 30 days and I could cancel at any point beforehand. He also told me that I would be on a pay-per-month plan, as per my request due to my finacial situation. Two weeks later I was charged $500 and told that if I wanted to cancel I would need to pay 40% of the contract fee, or $800, since it had been past the 3 day trial period as per the law. I am a 19-year-old college student and do not have a source of income. I was considering becoming a member to help overcome my depression and had no intention of spending more than I had saved for 6 months. The charge took everything out of my bank account and left me with nothing. Moreover, as I understood them, I owe them a further $1,800 should I not pay thier canclation fee.

The 30-day free trial period is advertised on their commercial and website. I was looking at the reviews for this place and several others have made similar claims about being lied to during the signing.

Do I have a case to have this contract annulled due to misrepresentation and get my money back? If not, what happens if I have no money in my bank account when they charge me again?

I am in Texas, San Antonio.

Edit* I have also explained my situation and requested information from the state attorny, but it has been two days and I have heard nothing from them.

Last edited:

justalayman