• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Dependent Care Flexible Spending Account

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

wei210

Dependent Fexible Spending Account

Hello, Cbg and tranquility, appreciated very much your instant response, I am so impressed about this website that I could get instant help, what an amazing website.

I had the very similar situation with Borrayo, I am from Texas, This is my first time enrolled FSA, and I am not familiar at all how the system works, I took the assumption I should take care of this before I do the tax-returns, and apparently I missed the deadline(huge mistake), and then called the flexible spending account (FSA) company, they asked me work with HR benefit officer before file anything online as I already passed the deadline, after I explained my situation, they told me nothing they could do about it.

While I understood the rules made for a reason, myself feel this is not fair, the money had been took from my paycheck, they even charge me administrative fee ($12 each account for medical and child care), but no email reminder at all either from the FSA company nor from my HR, and now I lost all those money.

Still, I appreciated it very much if anybody here could give me some suggestions: I) any materials I could use for a appeal letter; II) since the chance to get the money back is low, similar as Borrayo original asked, how do I claim the loss of that amount money when I do tax-return. Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated. Thanks again,

tranquility