• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Judge Threatening Jail over speeding ticket.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

RMM

New York State, Erie County.

I am a 24 year old driver with a pretty bad driving record. I have probably had about ten minor speeding tickets in my past but have kept my license 100% clean for the past 3.5 years until I recently got a speeding ticket going 77 in a 65 mph zone. I should also note that I've never had any other violations or problems with the law other than my dozen or so speeding tickets over a 8 year period.

I pleaded not guilty to this most recent speeding ticket and went to traffic court where the DA recommended driving school and I plead guilty to a 2 point non-moving violation. However, when I went before the judge to enter my plea, he looked over my record and began questioning me about why he should accept this deal and told me that he could throw me in jail or take away my license if he wanted to. He told me to go to driving school and gave me an order to return to court after at which time he would "make up his mind" on whether or not to accept the plea. He also said that either way he was definitely giving me community service.

Now my questions are A) is any of that even within his legal power based on a 12mph speeding violation? and B) should I pay the money to get an attorney for my return to court date?

Anyone help on this would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks.

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney
New York State, Erie County.