• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Wrongful Termination

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

witzeroni

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Illinois

Here's what happened. I'm a software engineer. I got a good offer from a consulting company while I was working at a different one. I accepted the offer and after 4 weeks they let me go saying 'poor performance'. I argued that I was given a virtual machine that had many problems and I was working at a snails pace because of it. I asked my manager to do something about it and nothing was done while I was working there (network team tried unsuccessfully to speed it up for me). No warnings, emails about issues they were having with me at all. No serverance or anything - if fact when I asked about unemployment - they said that since I wasn't there long enough, my last company will be responsible (will find out Monday when I apply - but not worried about it as I know I will get it).

Questions - What legal documents can I get from hr? (reason for termination, etc., and I want to get these right away before they try to modify anything). Is there anything else I am entitled to? I will do my due dilligence and do my own research to see if their was a breach in any Federal / State law.

If the answer is that I have no case, my question would be that what is to prevent a company from hiring someone for a specific project and after the project is done, fire him and cite 'poor performance'?

pattytx

Although your termination may have been unfair, it is nowhere near a wrongful termination under the law.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wrongful_dismissal