• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Creditors calling for tuition I am not responsible for? I was forced to put my card

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Proserpina

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? NY

I am a graduate student now, but a while back, I participated in a paid summer research program from a known national university (I will name it U for simplicity), back in 2007. Since then I have been moving around, because of college, jobs, etc.

Yesterday, I received a voice message from a debt collector telling me to call them back. When I called, they told me that I owed over 3500 dollars in unpaid tuition from the school U at 2007. This was obviously a fault from college U, since the program I participated wasn't supposed to charge me any tuition- I was paid for the summer, not the other way around. This was obviously a fault from college U. However, debt collectors didn't care.

However, the debt collector told me that since my known address from that time was what they only had on file, they had to jump around for this long and now they have tracked me down. They told me that since payment wasn't received for so long, they HAVE to have a payment record on file to debit at least 30% of it as a one time payment. They were "generous" in letting me have a few days delayed until this part gets debited, but they talked about how if I refuse to pay up, my credit will be damaged, and they will charge me for "evasion of debt".

I ended up giving them my card and address information, since I didn't want to be charged with anything and/or have my credit damaged from this egregious debt I wasn't responsible for.