• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Forfeiture of Funds in Freelance Contract

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

jocumo89

Hi, I have a question about freelance contracts. I'm a writer residing in New York and recently stopped working for a commission-based website. I still have back payment and was confused when I didn't receive any notifications from Paypal this morning, so I looked over my original contract. It states: "Unless otherwise agreed to by the parties in writing, payments to Contractor shall be forfeited if Contractor does not write for a span of 14 consecutive days." The company currently owes me over $100 and I'm concerned that they will use this precedent to withhold my earnings. Is this even legal? I understand that I signed the contract and that it's binding, but this clause is the lowest form of frugality. I was hoping someone could provide some insight into this case. Thanks in advance.

quincy