• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

NYC UPM Charge

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

damnimessedup

I got a ticket in nyc for upm 221-05 ( i live in another state). This is my first run in with the law ( never had a parking ticket or anything). I'm over 18. They gave me one of those pink tickets and the fine is for $25 with the court date in november. It was a stupid mistake and I'm completely responsible, no excuses. So I would like some advice on what I should do. some questions:

1) I'm a college student with a job so would that be affected in any way? I know that it might but again idk about nyc laws.

2) will i be able to get this removed from my record and if so how?? getting a job out of college with a drug charge is near impossible.

3) Will mail be coming to my home from attorneys and what not? My parents finding out would be the end of this so I would like to avoid that. Is it possible I can call the number on the ticket and have them change my address to somewhere else? I have a apartment near school so would that work if I just call and say I don't live at my listed address and i never updated my ID?

4) anything else I should know or that is recommended?

Thanks in advance for reading. Any and all legal advice is useful to me!

quincy

I got a ticket in nyc for upm 221-05 ( i live in another state). This is my first run in with the law ( never had a parking ticket or anything). I'm over 18. They gave me one of those pink tickets and the fine is for $25 with the court date in november. It was a stupid mistake and I'm completely responsible, no excuses. So I would like some advice on what I should do. some questions: