• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Work for hire in a music video?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Treble

Hello,

I am an artist and author of a musical composition and would like to make a video that is played over the song.

The video needs a few actors to act out
parts in the video. If no paperwork of any sort is signed by me or the actors,
can any or all the actors make demands such as royalties related to the music video or even demanding me to take the video down?

Thanks for all feedback
Bob

quincy

Hello,

I am an artist and author of a musical composition and would like to make a video that is played over the song.

The video needs a few actors to act out
parts in the video. If no paperwork of any sort is signed by me or the actors,
can any or all the actors make demands such as royalties related to the music video or even demanding me to take the video down?

Thanks for all feedback
Bob
Do you still live in Montreal, Bob?

There is no "work made for hire" in Canada. It is a U.S. concept.

Last edited:

Treble

Hi quincy,

Yeah I’m still in Mtl.

So what does this mean for me? I want to make sure I don’t have any problems once the video is published.

Can I have individuals act in my video without worries that they may want royalties or may want (for whatever reason) me to take the video down, EVEN if I was verbally up front with them about those issues?

Or, is it better to make them sign some sort of a document ?

Thanks for replying !

quincy

Hi quincy,

Yeah I’m still in Mtl.

So what does this mean for me? I want to make sure I don’t have any problems once the video is published.