• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Legal precedent

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

What is the name of your state? New Mexico.

I finally received the determination in my case and I lost. Stuff happens and I’m going to let it go but the case bought up what I believe is a legal precedent, and some friends believe that it can be used in their cases so I thought I would ask the opinion of the legal experts.
The basis of my case has been posted on this forum in the past, but in summary;

I was a cop in charge of the property room. I found a big pile of hydroponic equipment seized as drug paraphernalia from a search warrant, the estimated cost of the paraphernalia was about $6,000. Over 2 pounds of dried marijuana buds were also seized from the search. At the time of the search the paraphernalia was being actively used to grow more. The case was long adjudicated and I told the case agent I was going to destroy the paraphernalia. The case agent told me to return it to the family. I refused. My immediate supervisor told me to destroy it so I did. I was demoted and suspended without pay. I Filed a Whistleblower Act civil suit stating that the case agents order to return the drug paraphernalia was unlawful. I lost.