• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Judge incorrectly calcualted child support.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

HRZ

It's not clear from your post if judge did not give you credit for your various $600 payments or judge used a higher pay rate than your true average ...or what...it's up to you to lay out the math crystal clear and simple ...don't assume the judge is a wiz at math . Also it's not clear if judge set your future obligation based on too high a pay rate

I am not a lawyer or up on MD steps ...you might be able to QUICKLY file a motion for reconsideration laying out the correct math as you see it in easy to follow format ....but you need to get the steps right ...and your odds of change are far better if you use paid counsel...

Brush807

It's not clear from your post if judge did not give you credit for your various $600 payments or judge used a higher pay rate than your true average ...or what...it's up to you to lay out the math crystal clear and simple ...don't assume the judge is a wiz at math . Also it's not clear if judge set your future obligation based on too high a pay rate

I am not a lawyer or up on MD steps ...you might be able to QUICKLY file a motion for reconsideration laying out the correct math as you see it in easy to follow format ....but you need to get the steps right ...and your odds of change are far better if you use paid counsel...
This whole thing is very confusing. I am in the process of getting a lawyer! Thanks

HRZ

Maximum time window to file for reconsideration may be 30 days ...

IF you pay was higher earlier, judge might be right as to the back award

Brush807