• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

How Regular Occupation will be determined?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

wilson7

I have a personal disability income policy for a long time. It contains the following language:

Regular Occupation: the occupation or occupations in which you are regularly engaged at the time you become disabled.

Total disability means: you are unable to perform the material and substantial duties of your Regular Occupation and receive Regular Medical Care

I have been working for the last several years for an employer therefore my occupation is well defined. Now I want to resign that job and start my own consulting company (I will be the only employee/owner of that company).
I wish to register that company, as an LLC or sole proprietorship, with the Division of corporations of Florida. https://dos.myflorida.com/sunbiz/. My questions are

(i). Once I register, will it be enough to prove that I am regularly engaged in an occupation?

(ii). How the material and substantial duties of my occupation will be defined in case there is a disability claim? Will the Purpose or Statements information that I provide with the Division of corporations of Florida, when I register my company, be enough?

(iii). How much time will be considered as “regularly engaged” in my new occupation (i.e., consulting company work)? What if I start this consulting company today and I am disabled tomorrow due to an accident? Will it be treated as if I am regularly engaged when I am disabled (if not, how many dyas or months should be passed)?