• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Selling a rental property

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Steven Eidmann

Rental is in Colorado, I am a CA resident.
in 2010 my wife and I returned to CA from CO. Kept the house we had purchased in 2005 due to slow sales market. House has been a rental ever since. We now think we may not retire there. Paid 500k in 2005, current house value is about 850k based on comp. We file CO tax every year, pay zero due to expenses and depreciation. Don't really make anything much in cash flow, except to pay expenses.

If we were to move back into house for the 2 our of 5 year rule, then sell, can we expect some tax advantages for it becoming our main residence again vs just selling it as a rental and getting hit for income tax ect?

Please advise best route.

LdiJ

in 2010 my wife and I returned to CA from CO. Kept the house we had purchased in 2005 due to slow sales market. House has been a rental ever since. We now think we may not retire there. Paid 500k in 2005, current house value is about 850k based on comp. We file CO tax every year, pay zero due to expenses and depreciation. Don't really make anything much in cash flow, except to pay expenses.

If we were to move back into house for the 2 our of 5 year rule, then sell, can we expect some tax advantages for it becoming our main residence again vs just selling it as a rental and getting hit for income tax ect?

Yes, there would be some tax advantage to doing that. You would have to prorate the exclusion between rental time and primary residence time, and you would still have to recapture depreciation, but it would help. You would still have to pay some tax, but not as much.